Pharaoh Hound

    Related Articles

    History & Overview

    The Pharaoh Hound is one of the oldest breeds in the world. It is a sleek, swift-running, powerful hunting dog which originated in ancient Egypt. However, many breed enthusiasts believe that under the name Kelb Tal-Fenek, this breed has its roots in Malta. These hounds have indeed been preserved in Malta for many years where they were used for hunting rabbit and guarding property. An alert keen hunter, he hunts by scent and sight.


    Pharaoh Hounds are loyal and intelligent companions, affectionate, alert and very receptive to obedience training. They are a unique breed both in appearance and temperament. An extremely intelligent dog, he is playful and affectionate, yet also dignified and “self-contained.” This is not a breed for everyone, as it has a mind of its own, can be very demanding and has very strong hunting instincts. With strangers, the Pharaoh tends to be very reserved. It is often said that the Pharaoh hounds see children as potential playmates.


    The Pharaoh hound belongs to the Primitive Type breed group. The ideal height is 21 – 25 inches at shoulders. The coat is short and glossy, ranging from fine and close to slightly harsh. Tan or rich tan with white markings are preferred.

    Video Credits: Dogumentary TV


    1. FCI-Standard # 248/09.08.1999/GB


    Other Topics

    Dandie Dinmont Terrier

    History & Overview The Dandie Dinmont Terrier was developed in the Border country between Scotland and England in...

    Bracco Italiano

    History & Overview The Bracco Italiano is one of only two native Italian gundog breeds, both of which...

    Löwchen (Little Lion Dog, Petit Chien Lion)

    History & Overview The origins of Lowchen date back to the 13th century when the breed was a...

    Linebreeding and Inbreeding

    Introduction Inbreeding is a breeding technique which pairs closely related animals, such as father-daughter, brother-sister, or cousins. However,...

    Tetralogy Of Fallot

    What Is Tetralogy Of Fallot? Patent ductus arteriosus, aortic stenosis, ventricular septal defect, pulmonic stenosis, and tetralogy of Fallot are...